Book Of Rules (LP)

Sale price$23.50



Format: LP 
Label: Get On Down 
Year: 2018 

Media Condition: New 
Sleeve/Cover Condition: New 


A1 Book Of Rules 
A2 Black On Black 
A3 Peace And Harmony 
A4 Do Good To Everyone 
A5 World 

B1 Suffering So 
B2 Autalene 
B3 Baga Boo 
B4 Wah Go Home 
B5 Over And Over 

Originally released in 1973 


Vocals - Leroy Sibbles, Earl Morgan, Barry Llewellyn 
Alto Saxophone – Herman Marquis 
Bass – Leroy Sibbles 
Drums – Max Edwards, Roger Bethlemy 
Guitar – Jeffery Chung, Rico Bacca 
Percussion – Bongo Herman 
Piano, Organ – Leslie Butler 
Tenor Saxophone – Cedric (Im') Brooks 
Trombone – Nambo 
Trumpet – David Madden 
Producer – Harry Johnson 

Leroy Sibbles, Earl Morgan and Barry Llewellyn first banded together in Kingston in 1965 as The Hep Ones, but quickly changed it up to the Heptones when Morgan randomly spotted a discarded bottle of Heptones Tonic. We're not sure what was in that tonic, but it sure made for some smooth vocals. 

By 1967 the group was recording for Coxsone Dodd's famed Studio One, moving into the organization just as the Wailers were moving on. Though one may argue which group had sweeter harmonies, there's no doubt that The Heptones, unlike many others at the time, were not followers of the Wailers vocal stylings but rather contemporaries. 

After parting ways with Sir Coxone, the group released abundant material through a string of labels (including their own) ahead of being catapulted to international prominence due to a deal with Island Records in the late 70s. Book Of Rules being one of those recordings. 

In 1973 the group entered Harry J's studio in Kingston, with the record being issued on Harry's Jaywax imprint soon after the last note of the session tapered off. The effort features one of the biggest Heptone's hits in the title track 'Book Of Rules' , voiced by the late Barry Llewellyn. 

Once again available as first issued in Jamaica in 1973, this is a landmark recording that's not to be overlooked. 

You may also like