Children Of Zion: The High Note Singles Collection (3CD)

Sale price$19.60 Regular price$24.50


(Audio Preview Coming Soon)


Format: 3CD
Label: Doctor Bird
Year: 2021

Media Condition: New
Sleeve/Cover Condition: New


Disc 1
1 Work On Natty
2 Natty Dub
3 Stop The Fighting
4 Fussy Dub
5 Production Something
6 Production Dub
7 Trod On (12” Mix)
8 Rockers Dub (12” Mix
9 Dog A Go Nyam Dog (12” Mix)
10 Pyarka (12” Mix)
11 Down In Jamaica (12” Mix)
12 Cultural Rock Aka Garvey Rock (12” Mix)
13 Black Rose (12” Mix)

Disc 2
1 This Train
2 Dubbing Train
3 Mind Who You Beg For Help (12” Mix)
4 Natty Never Get Weary (12” Mix)
5 Jah Rastafari
6 Jah (Version)
7 The Shepherd
8 The Shepherd (Version)
9 Weeping Eyes
10 Yard Dub
11 Children Of Zion
12 Freedom Rock
13 Forward To Africa (12” Mix)
14 Africa Dub (12” Mix)

Disc 3
1 Children Of Zion (alt. 12” Mix)
2 Weeping Eyes (12” Mix)
3 Love Shine Bright (12” Mix)
4 Production Something (12” Mix)
5 Free Again (12” Mix)
6 Trod On (alt. 12” Mix)
7 Hola Mt. Zion (12” Mix)
8 Pyaka (Alt. Mix) (12” Mix)
9 Play Skilfully (12” Mix)
10 Too Long In Slavery (12” Mix)
11 Tell Me Where You Get It (12” Mix)

Original recordings 1977-1979.


Culture: Joseph Hill, Kenneth Dayes, Albert Walker
Producer: Sonia Pottinger

Arguably the greatest Jamaican vocal group to emerge on the reggae scene during the latter half of the Seventies, the Joseph Hill-led trio Culture wrote and performed some of the finest roots music of the era, initially making their mark with producer Joe Gibbs before joining the revered roster of Sonia Pottinger's High Note Records.

The first two discs of this long overdue triple CD set collect the 'A' and 'B' sides of all the group's Jamaican 7" and 12" High Note singles, with disc 3 comprising rare and previously unreleased 12" mixes from the vaults. Featuring some of the finest roots reggae recordings of the late Seventies, this collection superbly demonstrates why Culture remain held in such high esteem by reggae aficionados.

You may also like