Days Have Gone By (CD)

Sale price$11.60 Regular price$14.50



Format: CD 
Label: Ace - Takoma 
Year: 2008 

Media Condition: New 
Sleeve/Cover Condition: New 


1 The Revolt Of The Dyke Brigade 
2 Impressions Of Susan 
3 Joe Kirby Blues 
4 Night Train Of Valhalla 
5 The Portland Cement Factory At Monolith, California 
6 A Raga Called Pat-Part One 
7 A Raga Called Pat-Part Two 
8 My Shepherd Will Supply My Needs 
9 My Grandfather's Clock 
10 Days Have Gone By 
11 We Would Be Building 

Original recordings from 1967. 


John Fahey - guitar 

The finger-picking guitarist, composer, and innovator John Fahey enjoyed a long, influential and distinguished career. Born in Washington DC in 1939 and raised in Takoma Park, Maryland, he launched his own Takoma label to issue self-produced work in the late 1950s and then delivered his master's theses on the blues of Charlie Patton at UCLA. 

Then, while based in the radical town of Berkeley, California in the San Francisco Bay area, began issuing filed recordings of forgotten blues legends, such as Bukka White. With his own work, Fahey began borrowing from eastern elements such as Indonesian gamelan and Tibetan vocal chanting, reflecting his interest in esoteric eastern religion, as well as birdsong, animal calls, and other naturalistic elements. 

Days Have Gone By continues Fahey's interest in soundscapes, sound effects and experimental music—begun on The Great San Bernardino Birthday Party & Other Excursions—mixed in with the more traditional guitar playing of his earlier musical style. This is especially present on the two-part piece, "A Raga Called Pat". 

You may also like