Far East Suite (Expanded CD Edition)

Sale price$9.60 Regular price$12.00



Format: CD 
Label: Sony 
Year: 2016 

Media Condition: New 
Sleeve/Cover Condition: New 

1 Tourist Point Of View 
2 Bluebird Of Dehli (Mynha) 
3 Isfahan 
4 Depk 
5 Mount Harissa 
6 Blue Pepper (Far East Of The Blues) 
7 Agra 
8 Amad 
9 Ad Lib On Nippon 

10 Tourist Point Of View (Alternate Take) 
11 Amad (Alternate Take) 
12 Bluebird Of Dehli (Mynah) (Issued Take) 
13 Bluebird Of Dehli (Mynah) (Alternate Take) 
14 Isfahan (Alternate Take) 
15 Depk (Alternate Take) 
16 Mount Harissa (Alternate Take) 


Bass – John Lamb 
Drums – Rufus Jones 
Piano – Duke Ellington 
Reeds – Harry Carney, Jimmy Hamilton, Johnny Hodges, Paul Gonsalves, Russell Procope 
Trombone – Buster Cooper, Chuck Connors, Lawrence Brown 
Trumpet – Cat Anderson, Cootie Williams, Herbie Jones, Mercer Ellington 

Originally released in 1967 

Far East Suite by DC native Duke Ellington won the Grammy Award in 1968 for Best Instrumental Jazz Performance – Large Group or Soloist with Large Group. Ellington and Billy Strayhorn wrote the compositions. 

In early 1964, while on tour in England, Ellington and Strayhorn performed four pieces of music for the first time ("Mynah", "Depk", "Agra", and "Amad"), which they called "Expressions of the Far East". By the time of the recording sessions in December 1966 Ellington and Strayhorn had added four more pieces. 

"Ellington's ability to communicate points of contact and conflict between cultures, assimilating the blues to Eastern modes in tracks like 'Blue Pepper (Far East of the Blues),' never sounds unduly self-conscious. This remains a postwar peak." --The Penguin Jazz Guide 

You may also like