Party Time (CD)

Sale price$16.50


(Audio Preview Coming Soon)


Format: CD 
Label: Mango 
Year: 2003 

Media Condition: New 
Sleeve/Cover Condition: New 


1 Party Time
2 Crying Over You
3 Now Generation
4 Mr. President
5 Serious Time
6 I Shall Be Released
7 Storm Cloud
8 Road Of Life
9 Why Must I
10 Sufferer's Time


Bass – Boris Gardiner
Drums – Mikey Boo
Guitar [Lead] – Willie Lindo
Guitar [Phase] – R. William
Guitar [Rhythm] – Phill
Horns – David Maden, Glen DaCosta, Vin Gordon
Organ – Winston Wright
Percussion – Skully
Piano – Keith Sterling
Producer – Lee Perry
The Heptones are Leroy Sibbles, Barry Llewelyn, and Earl Morgan

Originally released in 1977. Recorded at Black Ark Studios, Jamaica.

Along with Junior Murvin's "Police and Thieves", Max Romeo's "War Ina Babylon", the Upsetters' "Super Ape", and the Congos' "Heart Of The Congos", this album can be seen as part of a Black Ark/Lee "Scratch" Perry produced canon of landmark roots LPs.

Highlights include the title track, a Rasta-influenced cover of Bob Dylan's "I Shall Be Released", the menacing "Storm Cloud", and the determined "Road of Life". Immaculate production by Lee Perry from start to finish eases the abrupt departure from the legendary Jamaican harmony trio's classic vibe and flow.

Despite fans' enduring and deepening appreciation for the work, among the LPs mentioned above, "Party Time" has become the most obscure. After many, many years of being out of print, the album was remastered and re-released on CD in 2003, and has not been re-issued since.

You may also like