Play On Mr. Music (CD)

Sale price$24.00



Format: CD 
Label: Rock-A-Shacka 
Year: 2020 

Media Condition: New 
Sleeve/Cover Condition: New 

1. Upsetter Revue - Play On Mr. Music 
2. Carlton Jackson - History (Dub Plate Mix)  
3. The Silvertones - Rejoice Jah Jah Children (Dub Plate Mix) 
4. Jimmy Riley - Give Me A Love 
5. The Upsetters - Give Me A Dub 
6. Lee Perry - Soul Fire 
7. Sam Carty - Milte Hi Akhen aka Bird In Hand (Full Vocal Version) 
8. Mystic I - One More River To Cross 
9. The Upsetters - One More Dub To Cross 
10. Junior Murvin - People Get Ready 
11. The Upsetters - People Get Ready Dub 
12. The Silvertones - Feel All Right 
13. Keith Rowe - Sugar & Spice (Love Has Got Its Way) 
14. The Upsetters - Spicy Version 

“Play On Mr Music” by the Upsetter Revue featuring The Heptones, The Congos and Junior Murvin, had long been the Holy Grail for roots reggae connoisseurs. The result of an impromptu studio jam (captured on celluloid for Jeremy Marre’ s Roots Rock Reggae documentary in May 1977), the track celebrates the undeniable pull of Perry’ s musical artistry. 

"Milte Hi Ankhen" by Sam Carty is a full vocal cut to the oriental dub known as "Bird In Hand" which was included the dub master piece "Return of The Super Ape". You can also enjoy the unreleased dub mix of the deep rasta tune "Rejoice Jah Jah Children" by The Silvertones, also the unreleased take of Carlton Jackson's big tune "History", an irie roots rock version of Curtis Mayfield "People Get Ready" by Junior Murvin and the soulful Perry's vocal on "Soul Fire". 

You may also like