Roll On Charles Street (2LP)

Sale price$37.50



Format: 2LP 
Label: Rock-A-Shacka 
Year: 2019 

Media Condition: New 
Sleeve/Cover Condition: New 


A1 Buster All Stars - Pink Night
A2 Buster All Stars - Hey Train
A3 Roland Alphonso - Roll On Charles Street
A4 Raymond Harper - Raining Outside
A5 Roland Alphonso - Almost Like Being In Love

B1 Buster All Stars - Charles Street Cowboy
B2 Buster All Stars - Prince Of Peace
B3 Prince Buster - Rude Rude Rudie (Don't Throw Stones)
B4 Don Drummond - Sudden Attack
B5 Don Drummond - Vietnam

C1 Prince Buster - High Blood Pressure
C2 Derrick And Patsy - Raindrops Falling
C3 Prince Buster, Derrick Morgan, Eric Morris & Patsy - Stir The Pot
C4 Spanish Town SkaBeats - Stop That Train
C5 Prince Buster - Islam

D1 Prince Buster - I Won't Let You Cry
D2 Dakota Jim (Slim Smith) - Only Soul Can Tell
D3 Prince Buster - I'm Sorry
D4 Buster All Stars - Summer Time
D5 Prince Buster - Sunshine With My Girl 

Original recordings 1961-1966. 

This set is sure to excite considerable interest among lovers of Jamaican music, featuring as it does many unreleased and alternate versions of Buster’s classic productions. 

The music here comes from the period 1961-1966, when Buster - as an independent producer and sound system owner - was rivalling the big guns in that field , namely Sir Coxsone Dodd, Duke Reid and King Edwards. Buster celebrated his rivalry in tracks like “They Got To Go”, “I See Them In My Sights” and “The King, The Duke, And The Sir”. 

Never one to miss the opportunity to assert himself against other producers, he conducted a musical feud against Derrick Morgan, a former associate who had decamped to the rival Sino-Jamaican ska producer Leslie Kong. Buster and Kong between them were the true originators of ska proper, ushering in the new music which would form the soundtrack to Jamaican independence in 1962 and beyond. 

This 2LP set features prime-quality ska, produced by a founding father of the genre, featuring great Jamaican musicians like trumpeter Baba Brooks, saxophonist Roland Alphonso, trumpeter Raymond Harper and various permutations of the premiere group of musicians collectively known as the Skatalites. 

It includes in-demand collector’s items like the Spanish Town Skabeats' “Stop That Train”, and vocals from the Prince himself, in his laid-back and engaging style. 

All tracks are taken directly from tape; this release is truly a feast for lovers of ska and Jamaican R&B in general. 

You may also like