Soul Love Now: The Black Fire Records Story, 1975-1993 (CD)

Sale price$9.50 Regular price$14.00



Format: CD
Label: Strut Records
Year: 2020

Media Condition: New
Sleeve/Cover Condition: New


1 Theatre West - Children Of Tomorrow's Dreams
2 Oneness Of Juju - Soul Love Now
3 Byard Lancaster - Drummers From Ibadan
4 Lon Moshe - Doin' The Carvin For Thabo
5 JuJu - Nia (Poem: Complete The Circle)
6 Wayne Davis - Look At The People
7 Southern Energy Ensemble - Third House
8 Oneness Of Juju - African Rhythms (Live In Washington DC, 1975)
9 Okyerema Asante - Follow Me
10 Experience Unlimited - People

The first ever compilation bringing together classics and rarities from the spiritual jazz and conscious soul label Black Fire, covering 1975 to 1993.  Formed by DJ and record producer Jimmy Gray, and following in the footsteps of other influential black-owned independent labels like Strata-East and Tribe, the foundation of Black Fire coincided with saxophonist James “Plunky” Branch returning to the city from New York to form Oneness Of Juju.

The band’s ‘African Rhythms’ album in 1975 was the perfect fusion of jazz, deep African polyrhythms and empowering lyrics and bassist Muzi Branch, a trained artist, created the first of many Black Fire handillustrated sleeves for the label’s debut release.

The album set the tone for a series of landmark releases on the label including Oneness Of Juju’s ‘Space Jungle Luv’ (1976) and debuts from soulman Wayne Davis (1976) and early go-go pioneers Experience Unlimited (1977). Gray continued to use his influence and strong A&R instincts to bring in more key artists – great jazz players like Byard Lancaster and Hamiet Bluiett, Ghanaian master percussionist Okyerema Asante and collectives including Southern Energy Ensemble and music / drama troupe Theatre West.

‘Soul Love Now’ brings together some of the many highlights from the label onto one essential compilation. Opening with Theatre West’s powerful soul message ‘Children of Tomorrow’s Dreams’, the tracks include a Byard Lancaster recording with Tunde Kuboye’s Drummers Of Ibadan in Nigeria and Lon Moshe’s driving jazz dance classic ‘Doin’ The Carvin’ For Thabo’. Wayne Davis brings the explosive gospel rare groove ‘Look At The People’ while Plunky’s JuJu and Oneness Of Juju feature with three tracks spanning their career, including a storming previously unreleased version of the classic ‘African Rhythms’ recorded in DC in 1975.

The release features extended sleeve notes on the history of the label alongside interviews with featured musicians. 

You may also like