Sugar Minott At Studio One (2LP)

Sale price$36.50



Format: LP 
Label: Soul Jazz Records 
Year: 2018 

Media Condition: New 
Sleeve/Cover Condition: New 


A1 Vanity
A2 Please Be True
A3 Hang On Natty
A4 Jahovia
A5 Give A Hand

B1 Try Love
B2 Roof Over My Head
B3 Jah Jah Lead Us
B4 Is It True
B5 Love Gonna Pack Up

C1 Give Me Jah Jah
C2 Jah Jah Children
C3 Party Time
C4 Change Your Ways

D1 Never Give Up
D2 Come On Home
D3 Jah Almighty

Originally released in 2004. Recordings 1978-1982.

Sugar Minott rose to fame in Jamaica as a DJ, and the innovation he brought to sessions at Studio One was rather than toasting or MCing over classic and popular rhythms of the day, he would perform entirely new songs. The technique would generate classic Studio One discos and LPs from Freddie McGregor, Johnny Osbourne, Willie Williams and others, set off a frenzy of re-recordings by house bands and sound systems around the island, and lead directly to the birth of dancehall music.

You may also like