New Moon In The Evil Age (2LP)

Sale price$54.50



Format: 2LP 
Label: Cuneiform Records 
Year: 2024 

Media Condition: New
Sleeve/Cover Condition: New


A1. New Moon
A2. Boom Boom
A3. Bells Ring in the Distance
A4. jamie's Song
A5. Fog Curls Round Cypress

B1. Slight Sense
B2. Rain Falls in San Francisco
B3. Rhizome
B4. Pacific Grove Monarch
B5. Crystal Wish

C1. Surf the Dead
C2. Evil Age
C3. Sweet and Sour
C4. Dreams Come Alive
C5. Innocent Human

D1. Flyover Iceland
D2. Heart's Hearth
D3. Dripping Prisms
D4. Find A Way

Janel Leppin - cello, modified cello, vocals, synthesizers, piano, koto, hammered dulcimer, bass
Anthony Pirog - electric and acoustic guitar, guitar synth, synthesizers, bass, percussion

Devin Hoff - electric and acoustic bass
Dr. Ali Analouei - daf, tonbak

The long-awaited follow up to 2012's "Where Is Home" from DC-based composers, arrangers, and multi-instrumentalists Janel Leppin and Anthony Pirog. The furiously gifted and tireless musical polymaths have spent the interval seemingly everywhere in DC's jazz, improv, and Punk/DIY scenes as contributing artists, bandleaders, and solo artists.

New Moon in the Evil Age is a harbinger of things to come as well as the distillation of a twenty year journey of life and work. The duo has a language and methodology so finely tuned that compositions can materialize with little provocation. Pirog observes, "We don’t even have to speak; we’re bringing certain ideas we’ve developed over twenty years of working and being together, which makes it so easy, because, really, we just sit down and music comes out."

The two-disc set offers 10 new instrumental compositions distilling the pair's many collaborations and solo projects from the noise-infused to the quasi-pastoral, and nine vocal tracks reminiscent of Janel's "Mellow Diamond" electro-chanteuse alter ego.

You may also like