Folksongs And Instrumentals With Guitar (LP)

Sale price$23.50



Format: LP 
Label: Smithsonian Folkways 
Year: 2019 

Media Condition: New 
Sleeve/Cover Condition: New 


A1 Wilson Rag
A2 Freight Train
A3 Going Down The Road Feeling Bad
A4 I Don't Love Nobody
A5 Ain't Got No Honey Baby Now
A6 Graduation March
A7 Honey Babe Your Papa Cares For You
A8 Vastopol

B1 Here Old Rattler Here / Sent For My Fiddle Sent For My Bow / George Buck
B2 Run...Run / Mama Your Son Done Gone
B3 Sweet Bye And Bye / What A Friend We Have In Jesus
B4 Oh Babe It Ain't No Lie
B5 Spanish Flang Dang
B6 When I Get Home

Originally released in 1958.

Guitar, Vocals – Elizabeth Cotten 

Chapel Hill, NC native Elizabeth "Libba" Cotton settled with her family in Washington, DC in the early 1940s. Through her friendship with the Seeger family, she was encouraged to revive her childhood passion and singular technique for the guitar. 

Elizabeth Cotten's 1958 debut album Folksongs and Instrumentals with Guitar, (aka Freight Train and Other North Carolina Folk Songs and Tunes) is best known for containing the earliest recording of her classic "Freight Train." 

The breadth of her repertoire and her endearing style have captivated generations of guitarists and fans of traditional American music. Cotten's self-taught, upside-down, left-handed playing style on the guitar and banjo made her a true original. Many of her deeply personal compositions, such as the immortal "Oh Babe It Ain't No Lie," are included. 

This vinyl edition comes in a library-style tip-on jacket.

You may also like