Africa's Blood (180g LP)

Sale price$29.50



Format: LP 
Label: Music On Vinyl 
Year: 2021 

Media Condition: New 
Sleeve/Cover Condition: New 


A1 Dave Barker – Do Your Thing
A2 The Upsetters – Dream Land
A3 The Upsetters – Long Sentence
A4 The Upsetters – Not Guilty
A5 The Upsetters – Cool And Easy
A6 Addis Ababa Children – Well Dread Version 3
A7 The Upsetters – My Girl

B1 The Upsetters – Saw Dust
B2 Winston Prince – Place Called Africa Version 3
B3 The Hurricanes – Isn't It Wrong
B4 The Upsetters – Go Slow
B5 The Upsetters – Bad Luck
B6 The Upsetters – Move Me
B7 The Upsetters – Surplus

The title is portentous, as this LP finds Perry just starting to break away from the broadly appealing, bread-and-butter "boss" or skinhead reggae sound geared toward the dance floor, to a more languid, complex, and afrocentric sound and outlook.

At this time Perry was producing groundbreaking LPs with future roots legends Junior Byles and Bob Marley and the Wailers, both of which are generously versioned on the Africa's Blood LP.

And Perry was just beginning his tutelage under King Tubby as a raw student of the art of dub (check "Well Dread" for a prime example). The partnership would go on to rapidly produce album after album of foundational, standard-bearing roots and dub reggae.

A transitional LP, not the buzziest of Perry's, but an important chapter in his body of work, now in its first-ever 180g audiophile pressing.

You may also like