Sale price$13.50



Format: CD
Label: Rounder
Year: 1992

Media Condition: New
Sleeve/Cover Condition: New


1 Breaths
2 Ella's Song
3 Oughta Be A Woman
4 Echo
5 Biko
6 Good News
7 We All...Everyone Of Us
8 More Than A Paycheck
9 How Long
10 Alla That's All Right, But
11 Sometime
12 On Children
13 Listen To The Rhythm
14 I'm Gon' Stand
15 Battle For My Life
16 Study War No More
17 Chile Your Waters Run Red Through Soweto
18 If You Had Lived
19 Azanian Freedom Song

Original Recordings 1981-1988


Aisha Kahlil
Bernice Johnson Reagon
Evelyn Maria Harris
Yasmeen Bheti Williams
Ysaye Maria Barnwell
Shirley Childress Johnson

Excellent single-disc compilation from the group's 1980's artistic peak.

Sweet Honey in the Rock is an internationally acclaimed a capella ensemble, founded in 1973 by Bernice Johnson Reagon, who was then teaching a vocal workshop with the Washington, D.C. Black Repertory Company.

Sweet Honey have continued to perform and tour the world since that time, mesmerizing audiences from pop-up gatherings to festival crowds, with only their voices, vocalizations, handclaps, and ever-present sign-language interpreter designated as a full member of the group.

The ensemble's powerful messages are proclaimed through an enormous catalog of songs addressing love, history, spirituality, womanhood, childhood, human rights, civil rights, immigration and culture, and compassion for all citizens and the world in which they live.

You may also like