Conquering Lion (Expanded 2LP Edition)

Sale price$33.50



Format: 2LP 
Label: Pressure Sounds 
Year: 2021 

Media Condition: New 
Sleeve/Cover Condition: New 


A1 Run Come Rally
A2 Jah Vengeance
A3 Conquering Lion
A4 Covetous Men
A5 Anti Christ

B1 Carnal Mind
B2 Jah Love
B3 Love Thy Neighbour
B4 Love Of Jah
B5 The Man Who Does The Work

C1 Rally Dub
C2 Tubby's Vengeance
C3 Conquering Dub
C4 Big Youth Fights Against Capitalist
C5 Anti Christ Rock

D1 Jah Love Dub
D2 Warning Version
D3 Love Thy Neighbour Version
D4 Love Of Jah Version
D5 Work Without Pay Version

Originally released in 1975


Backing Vocals – Alric Forbes, Dada Smith, The Prophets
Bass – Aston "Family Man" Barrett, Clinton Fearon, Robbie Shakespeare
Drums – Anthony Creary, Carlton Barrett, Leroy "Horsemouth" Wallace
Guitar – Albert Griffiths, Earl "Chinna" Smith
Mixed By – King Tubby, Lee Perry
Organ – Aston "Family Man" Barrett, Earl "Wire" Lindo
Percussion – Eric Lamont, Vivian Jackson
Piano – Augustus Pablo
Saxophone, Flute, Fife – Richard "Dirty Harry" Hall, Tommy McCook
Trombone – Vin Gordon
Trumpet – Bobby Ellis

Yabby You's debut full-length 'Conquering Lion' communicates a haunting spiritual quality that is uniquely its own. The product of recording sessions spread over four years, it still makes a coherent and powerful statement--thanks to the force of Vivian Jackson's (aka Yabby You) singular vision, and ability to draw peak performances from a Mount Rushmore of deep-roots reggae players and soundmen.

Here the album is presented for the first time in expanded form, with a second volume featuring dub and DJ mixes of the original tracks.

You may also like