Disco Reggae Rockers (Gatefold 2LP)

Sale price$36.50



Format: 2LP 
Label: Soul Jazz Records 
Year: 2022 

Media Condition: New 
Sleeve/Cover Condition: New 


A1 Devon Russell: Move On Up
A2 Crashers: Flight To Jamaica
A3 Valerie Harrison: Fool's Paradise
A4 Bill Campbell: For The Love Of You

B1 Risco Connection: It's My House
B2 Dave Barker: Glow Of Love
B3 Derrick Harriott: Caught You In A Lie

C1 Hortense Ellis: Young Hearts Run Free
C2 Ed Watson And Brass Circle: Wanna Be Startin' Somethin'
C3 Devon Russell: We The People Who Are Darker Than Blue
C4 Seventh Extension: Reasons

D1 Derrick Harriott: Brown Baby
D2 Ed Watson And Brass Circle: Let's Groove
D3 Pete Campbell & The Sunshine Girls: Don't Let Love Get You Down
D4 Webby Jay: In The Rain
D5 Glen Adams Affair: Just A Groove

Disco Reggae Rockers features wicked reggae disco versions of funk, soul and disco classics. This new album follows on from Soul Jazz Records' earlier highly successful 'Hustle: Reggae Disco' and features reggae covers of classic songs by Earth, Wind & Fire, Michael Jackson, The Isley Brothers, Candi Staton, Curtis Mayfield and more.

American and Jamaican music have been influencing each other back and forth for many decades, and is one reason that the music of Diana Ross, Curtis Mayfield, the Isley Brothers and numerous other US soul artists is so widely appreciated in Jamaica. It's an example of the interweaving thread of Jamaican and American music that travels back and forth between the major cities of Kingston, London, Toronto, New York, Chicago and Philadelphia.

All of the songs featured here are indeed cover versions of (or at least heavily based on) US soul and disco tunes. Curtis Mayfield, Diana Ross, Earth, Wind & Fire, Archie Bell, The Dramatics, Michael Jackson – the work of these artists resonated around the world and Jamaica was no exception.

You may also like