Divine Music (5LP Box Set)

Sale price$98.50



Format: LP 
Label: Manufactured Recordings 
Year: 2017 

Media Condition: New 
Sleeve/Cover Condition: New 


The Sea (LP, 1978)
A1 The Sea
A2 Far Away
A3 Nuba
A4 The Village Drum
B1 Awake To Love
B2 Trance Dance
B3 Egypt
B4 Africa We Are Your Children
B5 Visions

Meditation (2LP, 1981)
C Sounds Of Nature
D1 Song Of The Unseen
D2 Stillness
E Meditation Blues
F1 Close Your Eyes And See
F2 Spirit World

Searching (2LP, 1985)
G1 I Am 0
G2 Going Within
H1 Inner Voice
H2 Prayer
I Know Thyself

Bass – Vanesa Dixon
Drums – Nasar Abadey
Horns, Flutes, Percussion, Harmonica, Conch Shell, Zither – Brother Ah
Percussion – Habia Diana Hill, Cleo Jomo Faulks
Synthesizer – Richard Ashman
Violin – Lauren Tjane Elliot
Vocals – Nataska Hassan Youssef

Robert Northern, a.k.a. Brother Ah, was one of the most accomplished jazz French horn players of his era, having recorded and toured with greats such as Donald Byrd, John Coltrane, Gil Evans, Sun Ra, McCoy Tyner, Roland Kirk, Don Cherry, Thelonious Monk, Freddie Hubbard, Miles Davis, and Dizzy Gillespie prior to settling in Washington, DC in the early 1980s. He had also released a few albums as a bandleader.

During his nearly 40 years in DC, Brother Ah taught at the Levine School of Music, hosted a weekly radio show on WPFW, founded the World Music Ensemble, and thankfully continued to record, releasing four more full-length LPs from the early 80s to early 90s.

Divine Music Box Set:
A collection of three unreleased albums (on 5 LPs) from this jazz visionary: The Sea (1978), Mediation (1981), and Searching (1985). Moving from rich spiritual jazz to more meditative ambience, Divine Music further explores Brother Ah’s unique sound and musical vision. The illustrated insert includes an extensive interview with Brother Ah by Andy Beta.

You may also like