Drum Message (2LP)

Sale price$25.00



Format: 2LP
Label: Strut Records
Year: 2021

Media Condition: New
Sleeve/Cover Condition: New


A1 Drum Message
A2 Asante Sana
A3 Follow Me

B1 Sabi
B2 Mother Africa
B3 Never Fly Away From The Funk

C1 Play A Sweet Rhythm On Them Drums
C2 Adowa
C3 Sabi (Black Fire House Mix)

D1 Kazi's Awakening
D2 To The Ancestors

Originally released in 1993, recordings ca. 1977.

Okyerema Asante is a Ghanaian-born master drummer who long ago became--and remains to this day--a fixture of the local and regional free jazz, funk, and African music communities. He has recorded numerous collaborations with Black Fire artists, jazz bandleaders including Hugh Masekela and RVA native Lonnie Liston Smith, and latter-day projects at Maryland's Mapleshade Studios.

You may also like