Fire Over Babylon (Dread, Peace And Conscious Sounds At Studio One) (2LP)

Sale price$32.50



Format: 2LP 
Label: Soul Jazz Records 
Year: 2021 

Media Condition: New 
Sleeve/Cover Condition: New 


A1 Freddie McGregor: I Am A Revolutionist
A2 The Silvertones: Burning In My Soul
A3 Wailing Souls: Without You
A4 Devon Russell: Jah Jah Fire
A5 Trevor Clarke: Sufferation

B1 The Gladiators: Sonia
B2 Judah Eskender Tafari: Always Trying
B3 The Viceroys: Ya Ho
B4 Im And Count Ossie: Give Me Back Me Language And Me Culture

C1 The Gladiators: Serious Thing
C2 The Prospectors: Glory For I
C3 Wailing Souls: Things And Time
C4 Pablove Black: Inner Peace
C5 The Gladiators: Peace

D1 Horace Andy: Mr. Jolly Man
D2 Wailing Souls: Rock But Don't Fall
D3 Albert Griffiths And The Gladiators: Righteous Man
D4 The Viceroys: So Many Problems

‘Fire Over Babylon: Dread, Peace and Conscious Sounds at Studio One’ features a stellar selection of 70s roots music – classic and rare tracks recorded at Clement Dodd’s musical empire at 13 Brentford Road in the 1970s.

Rastafarian-inspired Roots music was an ever-important aspect of Studio One’s output from the start of the 1970s onwards and this album features many of the ground-breaking groups and artists that established the sound of Jamaica during this decade and beyond.

Featured here are seminal artists such as Freddie McGregor, The Wailing Souls, The Gladiators, Horace Andy, Devon Russell, Cedric Brooks, Count Ossie, Judah Eskender Tafari alongside a host of lesser-known rare cuts made at Studio One from artists such as The Prospectors, Viceroys and Pablove Black.

Studio One and founder Clement Dodd’s connection with Rastafarianism dates back to the early 1960s, with Dodd accompanying members of the Skatalites up to the hills of Kingston to listen to the music of the Rastafarian Count Ossie and his drummers. The album sleevenotes discuss how Clement Dodd’s musical links, as well as his role in heading the most important record label in Reggae, are in many ways linked to the beliefs of Rastafarianism.

This album is released as a heavyweight black vinyl double-album with gatefold sleeve, full notes and download code.

You may also like