Meditation In Dub (Limited LP)

Sale price$28.50



Format: LP
Label: 333
Year: 2024

Media Condition: New
Sleeve/Cover Condition: New


A1 Move Out of Me Way
A2 Meditation Dub
A3 Little Bit of Dub
A4 Peaceful Natty
A5 Political Affair

B1 Natty Chase the Barber
B2 Back Whe Dreadie
B3 Move Out Carol
B4 War Mongrel
B5 Trod On Natty

Originally released ca. 1976. This edition limited to 333 copies.

The Revolutionaries were an evolving cast of some of the finest session musicians in Jamaica during the roots and early dancehall periods. These would include Earl 'Wire' Lindo, Radcliffe 'Dougie' Bryan, Ansell Collins, Bobby Kalphat, Lloyd Parks, Uziah 'Sticky' Thompson, Bongo Herman, Stanley Bryan, Bo Peep, Eric 'Bingy Bunny' Lamont, Errol 'Tarzan' Nelson, Skully Simms, Robbie Lyn, Mikey 'Mao' Chung amongst many others.

The enduring core of the group, however, was undoubtedly in the coming together of the legendary rhythm section of drummer Sly Dunbar and bassist Robbie Shakespeare - with the formation of The Revolutionaries marking the first time that the duo worked together. The group laid down these rhythm tracks at their base at the storied Channel One recording studio, Maxfield Avenue, Kingston sometime in the mid 1970s under the arrangement of Ossie Hibbert. The Meditation in Dub LP is ormed of stellar dub versions of many of the early Flames labels 45s, including crucial takes on a great many popular rhythms of that period.

You may also like