Midnight Band: First Minute Of A New Day (LP)

Sale price$18.50



Format: LP
Label: TVT
Year: 1998

Media Condition: New
Sleeve/Cover Condition: New


A1 Offering
A2 The Liberation Song (Red, Black And Green)
A3 Must Be Something
A4 Ain't No Such Thing As Superman
A5 Pardon Our Analysis (We Beg Your Pardon)

B1 Guerilla
B2 Winter In America
B3 Western Sunrise
B4 Alluswe

Originally released in 1974. Recorded in Silver Spring, MD.


Gil Scott-Heron – vocals, piano, electric piano, guitar
Brian Jackson – synthesizer, keyboards, flute, vocals
Bilal Sunni Ali – flute, harmonica, saxophone
Danny Bowens – bass
Eddie Knowles - percussion, conga
Barnett Williams - percussion
Victor Brown – percussion, vocals
Charlie Saunders – congas, drums
Bob Adams – drums
Victor Bowens – tambourine, vocals, bells

The First Minute of a New Day served as Jackson's and Scott-Heron's debut for the Arista label and featured the eight-piece Midnight Band. It was the follow-up to Scott-Heron's and Jackson's critically acclaimed collaboration effort Winter in America. The First Minute of a New Day was the first album to feature the composition "Winter in America".

The songs on The First Minute of a New Day, which feature themes ranging from spirituality ("Offering") to revolution ("The Liberation Song") and oppression ("Winter in America"), contain jazz melodies by the Midnight Band and funk influences. "Winter in America" featured themes of struggle and had Scott-Heron singing of social, geographical and environmental oppression.

"With the opening meditation of "Offering" and the right-on "Ain't No Such Thing as Superman," the album solidifies Heron's place in the pantheon of jazz poets."
— Tim Sheridan, AllMusic

You may also like