Miss Rhythm (180g LP)

Sale price$29.50



Format: LP 
Label: Pure Pleasure 
Year: 2018  

Media Condition: New 
Sleeve/Cover Condition: New


A1 This Little Girl's Gone Rockin'
A2 Just Too Much
A3 I Hope We Meet (On The Road Some Day)
A4 Why Me
A5 Somebody Touched Me
A6 When I Get You Baby

B1 Jack O' Diamonds
B2 I Can't Hear A Word You Say
B3 One More Time
B4 Book Of Lies
B5 I Can See Everybody's Baby
B6 Show Me

Originally released in 1959.

By the time she released just her second LP, Ruth Brown had recorded 24 hit singles for the fledgling Atlantic Records, almost single-handedly building the label into an R&B powerhouse. "Miss Rhythm" (one of Brown's honorific nicknames, along with "Queen of R&B") has been called a "minor masterpiece" which achieved crossover success despite its lack of polish, all due to Brown's undeniable command and style on the mic.

Having begun her career as something of a runaway teen who scored a regular gig at DC's Bohemian Caverns and was "discovered" there by none other than Duke Ellington, Ruth Brown jumped off from those humble beginnings to pave the way for future queens like Aretha Franklin, Diana Ross, and Etta James.

Despite a creer arc which saw her retreat to private life for many years, Brown made her mark not only as a singer, but also as an actor and activist who helped secure better financial terms for performers all over the country. She won both a Grammy and a Tony award, and was inducted into the Rock & Roll Hall Of Fame.

You may also like