Rock Steady Cool (LP)

Sale price$24.00



Format: LP 
Label: Kingston Sounds 
Year: 2022  

Media Condition: New 
Sleeve/Cover Condition: New 


A1 The Rudies: Train To Vietnam
A2 Derrick & Patsy: Hey Boy - Hey Girl
A3 Alton Ellis: Bye Bye Love
A4 The Imperials: Young Love
A5 Bunny & Buddy: On The Town
A6 Junior Smith: Searching
A7 The Soul Flames: Mini Really Fit Dem

B1 Alton Ellis: La La Means I Love You
B2 Reco: Blue Socks
B3 Fitz & The Coozers: Cover Me
B4 Bobby Kalphat: Rhythm & Soul
B5 The Rudies: Engine 59
B6 Derrick Morgan: Music Be The Food Of Love
B7 Frederick Bell: Rock Steady Cool

Originally released in 1968, recordings 1966-1968.

Bass – Bryan Atkinson, Desmond Miles, Vincent Whyte
Drums – Joe Isaacs, Tony Bennett, Winston Grennan
Guitar – Robert Aitken, Bunny Cameron, Hux Brown, Lloyd Willis, Lyn Tait
Organ – Ansel Collins, Ike Bennett, Winston Wright
Percussion – Noel "Scully" Simms, Trevor Miles
Piano – Gladstone Anderson
Saxophone – Lester Sterling, Val Bennett
Trombone – Vin Gordon
Trumpet – Mark Lewis

Around 1966, an extreme heatwave hit Jamaica. This would not stop the all-night dances from going ahead but the jerky ska rhythms proved too strenuous of an activity to partake in, so a new slower beat to suit this extreme weather had to be found and rocksteady was born.

The rocksteady period ran until 1968 and would see some of the power escape from the big three producers, Clement "Coxone" Dodd, Prince Buster, and Duke Reid. It was time to make room for a new wave of up-and-coming producers such as Joe Gibbs, Sonia Pottinger, Derrick Harriott, and most prolific of them all, Mr Bunny Lee.

Rocksteady was an inspirational and somewhat overlooked sound that provided some outstanding music. So, sit back and enjoy some rocksteady straight from the dances of Jamaica.

You may also like