Rocksteady Got Soul (2LP)

Sale price$30.00



Format: 2LP 
Label: Soul Jazz Records 
Year: 2021 

Media Condition: New 
Sleeve/Cover Condition: New 


A1 Alton Ellis - It's True 
A2 The Heptones - You Turned Away 
A3 The Gladiators - Mr Sweet 
A4 The Jail Breakers - Work It Up 
A5 Lee Perry & The Gaylads - Run Rudie Run 
B1 The Heptones - Young Generation 
B2 Jackie Mittoo - Good Feelings 
B3 Calvin Marshall - I Need Your Loving 
B4 Alton Ellis - I'll Be Waiting 
C1 The Clarendonians - The Tables Gonna Turn 
C2 Ken Parker - When You're Gone 
C3 Sound Dimension - Traveling Home 
C4 Errol Dunkley - Get Up Now 
D1 John Holt - My Heart Is Gone 
D2 The Freedom Singers And Larry Marshall - Monkey Man 
D3 The Ethiopians - Let The Light Shine 
D4 Im And David - Money Maker 
D5 The Viceroys - Lose & Gain 

A collection of uplifting and superb rocksteady and soulful reggae from the late 1960s and early 1970s. Studio One is the number one label in the history of reggae and he album features – as ever with Studio One – an impeccable and unbeatable line-up of reggae superstars, all soaring at the height of their creative powers. Alton Ellis, John Holt, The Heptones, Jackie Mittoo, The Ethiopians, Lee Perry and more.  

The album is a mix of classic tunes and rhythms alongside super-rarities that were released in a dazzlingly complex web of Studio One labels and issues. But enough with the chatter, just spin the platter – these tunes rule the town, hands down!

You may also like