Soul Of A Nation: Afro-Centric Visions In The Age of Black Power (2LP)

Sale price$36.50



Format: 2LP 
Label: Soul Jazz Records 
Year: 2017  

Media Condition: New 
Sleeve/Cover Condition: New 


A1 Gil Scott-Heron: The Revolution Will Not Be Televised
A2 Mandingo Griot Society With Don Cherry: Sounds From The Bush
A3 Roy Ayers Ubiquity: Red, Black And Green
A4 Philip Cohran & The Artistic Heritage Ensemble: Malcolm X

B1 Sarah Webster Fabio: Sweet Songs
B2 Phil Ranelin: Vibes From The Tribe
B3 Horace Tapscott With The Pan Afrikan Peoples Arkestra: Desert Fairy Princess

C1 David McKnight: Strong Men
C2 Joe Henderson: Black Narcissus
C3 Oneness Of Juju: African Rhythms

D1 Doug Carn: Suratal Ihklas
D2 Duke Edwards & The Young Ones: Is It Too Late?
D3 Carlos Garnett: Mother Of The Future

Original recordings 1968-1979 

‘Soul of a Nation: Afro-Centric Visions in the Age of Black Power’ was released in conjunction with a major worldwide art exhibition, Soul of A Nation: Art in the The Age of Black Power which takes place at the Tate Modern, London, UK and The Brooklyn Museum, New York, USA.

The album shows how the ideals of the civil rights movement, black power and Black nationalism influenced the evolvement of radical African-American music in the United States of America in the intensely political and revolutionary period at the end of the 1960s following the assassinations of Malcolm X and Martin Luther King, and the rise of the Black Panther party.

"Soul of A Nation" shows how political themes led to the rise of ‘conscious’ Black music as new afro-centric styles combined the musical radicalism and spirituality of avant-garde jazz music, alongside the intense funk and soul of James Brown and Aretha Franklin, and the urban poetry and proto-rap of the streets.

You may also like