Soul Of A Nation: Jazz Is The Teacher, Funk Is The Preacher (3LP)

Sale price$38.50



Format: 3LP 
Label: Soul Jazz Records 
Year: 2018 

Media Condition: New 
Sleeve/Cover Condition: New 


A1 Art Ensemble Of Chicago With Fontella Bass - Theme De Yoyo 
A2 The Har-You Percussion Group - Welcome To The Party 

B1 The Pharaohs - Damballa 
B2 Baby Huey - Hard Times 
B3 James Mason - Sweet Power Your Embrace 

C1 Byron Morris And Unity - Kitty Bey 
C2 Funkadelic - Nappy Dugout 

D1 Rashied Ali & Frank Lowe - Exchange Part 2 (II) 

D2 Gary Bartz NTU Troop - Celestial Blues 

E1 Oneness Of Juju - Space Jungle Funk 
E2 Sarah Webster Fabio - Work It Out 

F1 Tribe (Wendell Harrison & Phillip Ranelin) - Beneficent 
F2 Gil Scott-Heron - Whitey On The Moon 
F3 Don Cherry - Brown Rice 

Original recordings 1969-1975 

"Soul of a Nation 2: Jazz is the Teacher, Funk is the Preacher" is a powerful collection of radical jazz, street funk and proto-rap made in the era of Black Power. 

Featuring ground-breaking African-American artists exploring new Afro-Centric poly-rhythmical styles of music alongside Black Power and civil-rights inspired notions of self-definition, self-respect and self-empowerment in their own lives. 

You may also like