Soul Of The Blues (Limited Edition LP)

Sale price$27.50



Format: LP
Label: Rhythm And Blues
Year: 2020

Media Condition: New
Sleeve/Cover Condition: New


A1. Watch Your Step
A2. Hard But It's Fair
A3. Titanic
A4. Won't Believe It Till I See It
A5. Don't Drive Me Away
A6. Gimme Some Lovin'
A7. Blues Get Off My Shoulder
A8. Keep Away From My Heart
A9. Night Stroll (Pt. 2)

B1. It's Too Late Darling
B2. Steal Your Heart Away
B3. Couldn't Quit My Baby
B4. Once Upon A Time, Long Ago, Last Night
B5. You Got What It Takes
B6. Do The Monkey
B7. Get Right
B8. Hot Gravy

LP Edition limited to 500 copies.

Virtuoso blues guitarist Bobby Parker inspired John Lennon, Eric Clapton, Carlos Santana, Jimmy Page, and many others yet it has taken 66 years since his recording debut for a compilation to be issued under his name.

The opening track "Watch Your Step" was played on stage by the Beatles in their Hamburg days who by their own admission, took its riff to fashion the opening to "I Feel Fine". And let's not forget Led Zeppelin's "Moby Dick", which borrowed that same riff.

What a great soulful blues singer Bobby Parker was, too. From his 1956 recording of "Titanic", to 1969's "It's Hard But It's Fair", Soul Of The Blues features unforgettable vocal performances and instrumentals that showcase his unique way of playing the blues.

Parker settled permanently in the DC area in the early 1960's.

You may also like