Sale price$38.50



Format: 2LP
Label: Soul Jazz Records
Year: 2023

Media Condition: New
Sleeve/Cover Condition: New


A1 Sam's Intro
A2 Tales Of Mozambique
A3 Selam Nna Wadada (Peace & Love)

B1 No Night In Zion
B2 I Am A Warrior
B3 Wicked Babylon

C1 Let Freedom Reign
C2 Lock, Stock & Barrel
C3 Nigerian Reggae

D1 Run One Mile
D2 Rasta Reggae
D3 Samia

Originally released in 1975. This edition pressed on purple vinyl.

Count Ossie is central in the development of Rastafarian roots music, nowadays an almost mythical and iconic figure. His importance in bringing Rastafarian music to a populist audience is matched only by Bob Marley’s promotion of the faith internationally in the 1970s.

Count Ossie’s drummers performed on the first commercially released single to integrate Rastafarian traditional music with popular music: the vocal group The Folkes Brothers’ groundbreaking song ‘Oh Carolina’, recorded for producer Prince Buster in 1959. In 1966 his drummers greeted the momentous arrival of Haile Selassie at Kingston airport.

His legendary jam sessions up in his Rastafarian compound in the hills of Wareika, Kingston, are famous for the many Jamaican musicians who attended including The Skatalites players and many others.

The Mystic Revelation of Rastafari formed in Kingston in 1970, a union of Count Ossie’s Rastafarian drummers and the saxophonist Cedric Im Brooks’ horns group, The Mystics.

They are the defining group in bringing authentic Rastafarian rhythms into the collective consciousness of popular music, at once rooted in the deep traditions and rituals of traditional drumming and chanting alongside a forward-thinking, even avant-garde, artistry influenced by the likes of John Coltrane, Sun Ra, Pharoah Sanders and other pioneering African-American jazz artists charged by the civil rights movement.

You may also like