The Kingston Sessions (2LP)

Sale price$30.00



Format: 2LP
Label: Onlyroots
Year: 2023 

Media Condition: New
Sleeve/Cover Condition: New  


A1 Poverty
A2 Got To Return
A3 Give Jah The Praises
A4 Entrance To Jah World

B1 Black Forces
B2 Feel Good
B3 Protect Them
B4 Freedom Train

C1 Shaddai Children
C2 Rise In The Strength Of Jah (Ext. Vers.)
C3 How Does It Feel
C4 When You A Knotts

D1 Feel No Pain
D2 Some Day
D3 Your Desire
D4 Those Tears
D5 Knowledge Of Now

Originally released in 2018. Recordings from 1978 - 1985.

Bass – Aston "Family Man" Barrett, Chris Meredith, Errol "Flabba" Holt, Michael Taylor, Robbie Shakespeare
Drums – Albert Malawi, Benbow Creary, Carlton Barrett, Lloyd Adams, Sly Dunbar, Style Scott
Guitar – Andy Bassford, Earl "Chinna" Smith, Fazal Prendergast, Leebert "Gibby" Morrison
Horns – Dean Fraser, Junior "Chico" Chin, T. Reid
Piano, Organ, Melodica – Augustus Pablo
Engineer – Augustus Pablo, Ernest Hookim, King Tubby, Oswald Palmer, Scientist, Soljie, Sylvan Morris

A brilliant retrospective of the immensely talented but only sporadically recorded Jamaican roots singer Norris Reid. Reid has never had the financial security to be a full time professional musician, yet the smattering of singles he released during reggae's golden age featured collaborations with many of the music's true luminaries. It adds up to two incredible LPs that can stand proudly with some of the best roots of the period.

You may also like