The New Faith (LP)

Sale price$19.50



Format: LP 
Label: Smithsonian Folkways 
Year: 2023 

Media Condition: New 
Sleeve/Cover Condition: New 

The Psalms Of The Sentinel
A1 Take Me To The Water / Prayer
A2 The Downward Road
A3 Didn't It Rain
A4 Tangle Eye Blues

The Psalms Of The Gravedigger
A5 Parable
A6 Death Have Mercy
B1 City Called Heaven
B2 They Are Waiting For Me

The Psalms Of The Teacher
B3 Psalms
B4 Just As Well To Get Ready, You Got To Die
B5 Give Up The World
B6 Once There Was No Sun

The New Faith tells an afrofuturist story set in a far-future world devastated by climate change. Jake Blount and his collaborators embody a group of Black climate refugees as they perform a religious service, invoking spirituals that are age-old even now, familiar in their content but extraordinary in their presentation. These songs, which have seen Black Americans through countless struggles, bind this future community together and their shared past; beauty and power held in song through the centuries.

You may also like