The Prophets: King Tubby's Prophecies Of Dub (LP)

Sale price$26.50



Format: LP
Label: Pressure Sounds
Year: 2023 

Media Condition: New
Sleeve/Cover Condition: New


A1 Fair Lady
A2 Babylon Red
A3 South West Block
A4 Tear Gas In Water House
A5 Tradition Skank
A6 Earth Fear

B1 Black Out
B2 Serious Rebellion
B3 Gun Man From Water House
B4 Bad Man Skank
B5 Passing Through
B6 Was Alive

Originally released in 1976.


Produced and Arranged By – Vivian Jackson (Yabby You)
Engineer – Pat Kelly
Executive Producer – Bunny Lee
Bass – Aston "Family Man" Barrett, Robbie Shakespeare
Drums – Carlton "Santa" Davis, Leroy "Horsemouth" Wallace, Sly Dunbar
Guitar – Earl "Chinna" Smith, Tony Chin
Keyboards – Ansel Collins, Aston "Family Man" Barrett, Bernard "Touter" Harvey, Winston Wright
Percussion – Bongo Herman, Noel "Scully" Simms
Saxophone – Richard "Dirty Harry" Hall, Tommy McCook

The opening two dubs are from Linval Thompson's 'Long Long Dreadlocks', and an unreleased cut of 'Simmer Down' by Johnny Clarke on a modified 'Move Out Of Babylon' rhythm. This is followed by Johnny's version of Curtis Mayfield's 'Ten To One' as covered by the Mad Lads. Then there are four cuts pulled from Delroy Wilson's 'Sings For I' album, and two from Horace Andy, 'Serious Thing' and 'Man To Man'. After Johnny Clarke's 'Live Up Jah Man' and 'Stop The Tribal War', the album concludes with the sole Yabby You rhythm, a dub of Dicky Burton's 'God Is Watching You' that is noticeably different from the Tubby's mix as heard on the 'Beware Dub' album.

Throughout, Pat Kelly's mixing is detailed and subtle, focusing the listener into the musicality of the backing tracks. The LP was released in 1976 in very limited numbers on the Prestige label, probably with the involvement of Prince Tony Robinson, with a further limited pressing appearing on the Prophets label. This reissue at last allows an obscure and mysterious album to be enjoyed by a wider audience.

You may also like