Vibes Of Truth (CD)

Sale price$12.00




1 I Need You Girl
2 Backed Up Against The Wall
3 Vibes Of Truth
4 Shortnin' Bread
5 Self Dealin'
6 Concrete Jungle
7 If Only I Could Prove To You
8 Cool It
9 Virtue

Originally released in 1975. Produced by Donald Byrd.


Backing Vocals – Three Pieces
Bass, Lead Vocals – Jerry Wilder
Congas, Percussion – Andre Richardson
Drums – Jack Cooper
Electric Piano, Synthesizer – Lincoln Ross
Guitar – Orville Saunders, Ray Parker
Percussion – Bobbye Hall
Producer – Donald Byrd
Strings, Horns – Carol Campbell, Corethia Marcus
Trombone – Lincoln Ross

3 Pieces were the Washington, DC trio of Andre Richardson, Jerry Wilder, and Lincoln Ross. Donald Byrd's time in DC was short but furiously productive. Having midwifed hitmakers the Blackbyrds while teaching on the Howard University campus, Byrd used his growing clout to get 3 Pieces a record deal as well. The group didn't quite have the national impact of Byrd's other proteges, but clearly made an impression locally, with "Back Up Against The Wall" and "Shortnin' Bread" (along with the separately-released single "Iwishcan William") cropping up in go-go repertoires for decades after.

You may also like