We're New Again: A Reimagining By Makaya McCraven (LP)

Sale price$23.50



Format: LP 
Label: XL Recordings 
Year: 2023 

Media Condition: New 
Sleeve/Cover Condition: New


A1 Special Tribute (Broken Home Pt.1)
A2 I'm New Here
A3 Running
A4 Blessed Parents
A5 New York Is Killing Me
A6 The Patch (Broken Home Pt.2)
A7 People Of The Light
A8 Being Blessed
A9 Where Did The Night Go

B1 Lily Scott (Broken Home Pt.3)
B2 I'll Take Care Of You
B3 I've Been Me
B4 This Can't Be Real
B5 Piano Player
B6 The Crutch
B7 Guided (Broken Home Pt.4)
B8 Certain Bad Things
B9 Me And The Devil

Originally released in 2020. "I'm New Here" original tracks recorded in 2010.

It sounds like such a bad idea, posthumously re-injecting life and vigor and relevance into Gil Scott-Heron's intimate and reflective final set of original vocal recordings. But this LP is beautifully done, pulling off that re-invigoration while staying faithful to Gil Scott-Heron's spirit and artistry. Recommended.

You may also like