Where Is Home (LP)

Sale price$27.50



Format: LP
Label: Cuneiform Records
Year: 2012

Media Condition: New
Sleeve/Cover Condition: New

A1 Big Sur
A2 The Clearing
A3 Leaving The Woods
A4 Symphony Hills
A5 Lily In The Garden
A6 Auburn Road
A7 Mustang Song

B1 Stay With Me
B2 A Viennesian Life
B3 Broome's Orchard
B4 Cross The Williamsburg Bridge
B5 Where Will We Go
B6 Finale


Cello, Loops, Electronics, Lead Vocals – Janel Leppin
Guitar, Loops, Electronics – Anthony Pirog

Both musicians, together and separately, have long been an important and active part of Washington D.C.’s new-music scene. Anthony Pirog, an omnivorous, multi-faceted guitarist who studied jazz at Berklee and has performed country, fingerstyle, rock and surf music and Janel Leppin, a conservatory trained cellist steeped in North Indian and Persian classical music, who also plays electric bass in rock bands, have created a lavishly detailed musical journey, by turns ravishing and harrowing. Janel and Anthony alternately charm and challenge, with music that draws from classical, experimental, jazz, rock and electronic traditions but that ultimately is simply theirs.

Self-recording and releasing their 1st album in 2006 and selling thousands of copies at their hundreds of shows, they spent over 3 years conceiving and recording Where Is Home in a professional, analog studio, giving the album a thoughtful, comfortable and lived in feel. Alternating compositions with brief improvisations and soundscapes, Where Is Home captures the dynamic ebb and flow of their live shows where they artfully employ live looping, an array of effects and prepared backing. Simple musical lines grow into complex blocks of echoing sound which eventually are spun and turned into elegiac melodies. The music is both experimental and elegant and smokily psychedelic in a completely modern way.

DCist named Where Is Home to its 11 of the Best Albums Recorded in Washington, DC

You may also like