Young People's Church Of The Air (LP)

Sale price$16.50



Format: LP 
Label: Park The Van 
Year: 2012 

Media Condition: New 
Sleeve/Cover Condition: New 


A1 A Litany For Mrs. T 
A2 The Days Of Adderall 
A3 Bedbedbedbedbed 
A4 A Bunch Of People Who Love You Like Crazy 
A5 Nassau 

B1 Burglarizing The Deaf 
B2 Baltika 9 
B3 English As A Second Language 
B4 Ordination Day 
B5 The Demon & The Hurricane 
B6 What An Awesome Backhanded Compliment 


Daniel Scheuerman (guitar, vocals) 
Matt Dowling (bass, keyboards) 
Dominic Campanaro (guitar, keyboards, samples) 
Brian Hospital (drums) 

Washington DC stalwarts Deleted Scenes' sophomore album grabs rhythmic feels from '80s pop, R&B, surf rock, dark funk, and Go-Go. Young People's Church of the Air reveals Deleted Scenes discovering a unique ground between pop and experimental impulses. 

Drummer Brian Hospital introduces the double-kick pedal to art rock with thoughtful drum arrangements. The lyrics find Daniel Scheuerman taking risks to explore themes of family, love, death, and joy in a self-devouring poetic style. 

The songs began as loops-based jams in Scheuerman's basement studio, which were then introduced into the band environment, taking on a live identity over the course of 300 tour dates. 

The album title comes from a 1930s radio-church hymnal Scheuerman found in an old piano bench at the Garden Center, and evokes the elusive and sometimes illusory nature of hope. The first single from the album, indie club anthem "Bedbedbedbedbed" showcases "the smart, sweeping pop of the Shins and the artful angst of the Talking Heads". 

You may also like